Questions about usage of the system and tools

Using the debugger

Postby wsgibson » 8. Mar 2013, 16:52

I am using Smalltalk/X 6.22 and am having some difficulty using the debugger to change variable values. I am unable to Accept my changes in the inspectors at the bottom. The option to Accept is greyed out in the pop-up menu and Ctrl-s does not work either. Even if I inspect the variable and attempt to change the value there I cannot do so. What am I missing?

Thanks!
Scott Gibson
wsgibson
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 7. Mar 2013, 05:35

Re: Using the debugger

Postby stefan » 11. Mar 2013, 18:48

This is a bug in the debugger. It works in the receiver inspector, but not in the context inspector (at the left). Until we have fixed it, you can work around this bug:

    Type an assignment in the text view (like "var:=something"), select this text and press doIt (Ctrl+d)
stefan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 8. Nov 2008, 00:27

Re: Using the debugger

Postby wsgibson » 11. Mar 2013, 21:19

Thanks! That is what I wound up doing in order to change the values. I figured I was doing something wrong by having to do this.

Thanks again!
Scott
wsgibson
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 7. Mar 2013, 05:35

Re: Using the debugger

Postby cgittinger » 11. Mar 2013, 23:06

No, it was my fault (sorry - I messed up ContextInspectorView, when adding new stuff to the fieldList).
With access to our public CVS repository, you should be able to find the changes in vsn 1.80 of libtool/ContextInspectorView.
(be aware, that the public repository is only rsync'd once a night (after midnight, GMT), so you better wait until tomorrow).
cgittinger
 
Posts: 61
Joined: 12. Nov 2008, 17:05

Re: Using the debugger

Postby wsgibson » 12. Mar 2013, 20:18

The changes worked great. I am having one more issue though that may or may not be related. If from the workspace I do something like "Date today halt year" and PrintIt (Ctrl-P) and just continue through the debugger I receive a nil instead of the year as the printed value. Is something off here too? Thanks again for the fix it was very prompt and helpful.

Scott
wsgibson
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 7. Mar 2013, 05:35

Re: Using the debugger

Postby stefan » 26. Mar 2013, 21:49

When you change the code in Object>>#halt

Code: Select all
halt
    "{ Pragma: +optSpace }"

    "enter debugger with halt-message.
     The error is reported by raising the HaltSignal exception."

    <resource: #skipInDebuggersWalkBack>

    Smalltalk ignoreHalt ifTrue:[^ self].
    "/ don't send #halt: here - ask cg why.
    HaltInterrupt raiseRequestWith:#halt.
    ^ self


you will get the expected behaviour. We changed the code in the repository.
stefan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 8. Nov 2008, 00:27

Re: Using the debugger

Postby wsgibson » 28. Mar 2013, 03:31

Thanks again. You guys are awesome!

Scott
wsgibson
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 7. Mar 2013, 05:35


Return to General Help

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Design by GB